Alternative Histories

Acknowledging that architecture is a corpus of inherited ideas, Alternative Histories began with a question: could a contemporary architect, with their own references, make a model that would respond to a drawing from the past? This book collects the 85 models produced by the same number of practices alongside the architectural drawings that prompted them, all of which are held in the UK-based archive of Drawing Matter. Taken as a whole, the responses challenge the facile understanding of concepts of reference, history or influence as drivers of contemporary architectural thinking. From methods to materials, the project opens up not only new ways of looking at the past, but also a series of conversations about how architects today shape their present.

Awarded Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2019 by the Swiss Federal Office of Culture.

Co-curated by Jantje Engels and Marius Grootveld.
Designed by Studio Mathias Clottu, and published by Drawing Matter (2019).


Models by:
2A+P/A, 31/44 Architects, AMUNT, Atelier Tomas Dirrix, Bardakhanova Champkins, baukuh, BeL Sozietät für Architektur, Bernd Schmutz Architekten, Bosshard, Tavor, van der Ploeg and Vihervaara, Bovenbouw, Carmody Groarke, Caruso St John & Siw Thomas, Charles Holland Architects, Christ & Gantenbein, Clancy Moore Architects, Conen Sigl Architekten, David Kohn Architects, David Leech Architects, dePaor, De Smet Vermeulen architecten, Descloux Engelschall, Dierendonckblancke Architecten, Doorzon Interieurarchitecten, Dow Jones Architects, Dyvik Kahlen Architects, Eagles of Architecture, East Architecture, ECTV, Edelaar Mosayebi Inderbitzin Architekten, Elizabeth Hatz, EM2N, fala atelier, Flores i Prats Architects, Florian Beigel Architects, GAFPA, General Architecture, GKMP architects, Grafton Architects, Gustav Appell Arkitektkontor, Hans van der Heijden Architect, Happel Cornelisse Verhoeven Architecten, Havana architectuur, Hayatsu Architects, Hild und K Architekten, Hugh Strange Architects, De Vylder Vinck Taillieu, Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor, Johansen Skovsted Arkitekter, Klara Bindl, Knapkiewicz & Fickert Architekten, Lilith Ronner van Hooijdonk, Loeliger Strub Architektur, Lütjens Padmanabhan Architekten, Marie-José Van Hee, Max Otto Zitzelsberger, Mikael Bergquist, Monadnock, muf architecture/art, Multerer Architekten, Murmuur Architecten, Níall McLaughlin Architects, Nikolaus Bienefeld, noAarchitecten, Noreile Breen, NP2F Architectes, Oda Pälmke Architektin, Office Winhov, Olivier Goethals, OMMX, ONO architectuur, Paul Dillon Architects, Point Supreme Architects, Raamwerk, RLOALUARNAD, Robbrecht en Daem, Roz Barr Architects, Rural Urban Framework, Ryan W. Kennihan Architects, Sam Jacob Studio, Schneider Türtscher, Stephen Bates, Jonathan Sergison, Stephen Taylor Architects, Steve Larkin Architects, O’Donnell + Tuomey, t o b Architect, Studio Thys Vermeulen, TAKA architects, Smith and Taylor Architects, Tony Fretton Architects, Traumnovelle, Veldwerk Architecten, Wim Goes Architectuur, Witherford Watson Mann.



Alternative Histories